Our Reviews

Rate MD     Yelp     Google+     Facebook

 

Rate MD Reviews

Dr. Sklar was my third opinion for my surgery and after the consultation I knew I was where I belonged! Dr. Sklar explained every detail of what was wrong with my toe and exactly how he would fix it. Finally, someone that made sense!! I had a fractured bone spur on top of my toe with the piece of bone stopping me from bending my toe, arthritis at the joint, a bunion, and a cyst on another toe from a bone spur. Other places wanted to put an implant in at the joint or fuse the bones together so I would never be able to stand on my tiptoes or wear heels again. That was not acceptable to me! So Dr. Sklar at Foot First fixed everything and SAVED THE JOINT! He shortened the bone south of the joint to allow more room for cartilage and movement. I was in his office (yes, his office...so no waiting for hospital openings or their cost) at 10am and out by 11:30am on the day of surgery.... and I walked out on my own without crutches or a cane! Four days later he was able to bend my toe without any pain! I am recovering very nicely and will have the other bunion removed in a few weeks!
So thankful that I found Foot First and their extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff!!
I highly recommend them...if you haven’t figured that out!!
— January 10, 2015
I just finished my treatment with both Dr. Sklar’s and I can actually say that I will miss all of them I was told by Dr. Sam Sklar that so far year I have had the worst bunion they have seen. But you should see my foot now. I am extremely pleased with the work that they have done on my foot. I am no longer embarrassed about my bunion and this is the first summer in about 17 years that I have been able to wear cute sandals and not have to hide my foot. If you are thinking about doing something about your bunion, Dr. Sklar is your man. I had minimal pain because of the numbing medicine and I have a hidden scar on the side of my foot. I would do it again in a heartbeat. Check Foot First Podiatry out. They have changed my life.
— August 8, 2016
I had an all around outstanding experience with Dr. Keith Sklar and his staff at Foot First Podiatry in Schaumberg. Everything went the way he explained it to me. He and staff very nice and friendly. I highly recommend him and Nick if you need surgery. I first heard of him on a radio ad and decided to give him a call. His assistant called me and I setup consultation. I was in and out of surgery in 1.5 hour. Everything was great!
— July 23, 2016
I had an all around outstanding experience with Dr. Keith Sklar and his staff at Foot First Podiatry in Schaumberg. To begin with Dr. Sklar’s office is clean, inviting and up to date with an interesting collection of contemporary art. Prior to performing bunion surgery, his staff was helpful and courteous in assisting me with insurance issues. Dr. Sklar’s demeanor was professional yet friendly. I appreciated the time he took to explain the innovative surgical compression technique he has developed and patented. Dr. Sklar makes a cut parallel to the bone unlike traditional bunion surgery, thus allowing the natural downward force of walking to be applied to the bone causing compression, which aids and hastens the healing process. Not only does this procedure make engineering sense, it also produces aesthetically pleasing results. A small incision was cut on the side of my foot rather than on the top, therefore, I do not have an unsightly scar. I found the surgery to be remarkable in that; I walked out of his office after a 1.5 hr. procedure was performed, I had minimal pain for two days, was driving in less than a week, wearing running shoes within two weeks and back to my regular exercise routine within 10 weeks. I had delayed having my bunion removed because I had heard so many terrible stories from other people about the pain, the down time, the cast and crutches, all of which were none issues with the surgery that Dr. Sklar performed on my foot. Had I know this entire process would be streamlined and simplified I would have done it much earlier. I highly recommend Dr. Sklar and his innovative procedure and suggest you don’t delay your surgery any longer!
— July 21, 2016
Dr. Keith Sklar and his staff are amazing! I was in excruciating pain with bunions in both feet. I had both of my bunion surgeries a week apart, and just three days after each surgery, I was in minimal to no pain. It was very easy having my surgeries back to back. A week after each surgery, I was already walking around in my gym shoes! My ultimate goal was to be ready for Lollapalooza coming up at the end of this month, and Dr. Keith made that happen!
— July 6, 2016
I am a nurse and extremely picky. I had bunion surgery a little over 2 weeks ago. Every aspect of my care thus far has been outstanding. The office is clean and well organized, call backs have been prompt, and Dr. Sklar and his staff have been responsive and professional.
— June 19, 2016
I have been in “bunion” pain and had hammer toes for as long as I can remember. At least the past 15 years. I went to see Sam Sklar in the Oak Brook office on a Monday and the next Monday in Schaumburg I had surgery. I had bunion surgery and shortening of my hammertoes. Once I made the decision to see the doctor, saw what they could do I wanted it as soon as possible. At the first visit I gave them my insurance info and by the pre-op visit I was informed exactly what my insurance would cover, what they were going to do and how I would walk out on my own foot with no help.
All went EXACTLY as expected. I had pretty major surgery on my foot and I was in pain for the first 3-4 days, it was very bearable, I had pain in the toe area at one point and they adjusted the bandage and it was uphill from then on. I went in a few times a week as directed and each time I went it got remarkably better, so much so that three weeks later I opted to dive in to the other foot. It all went exactly like the first one. No surprises. IF I only had my bunions done I would have been without any discomfort at all in about three weeks. I was back to work 4 days after surgery. Because of the toes, it was a little longer discomfort only in toe area - not really pain. I also had therapy for a couple weeks. It definitely helped even though I didn’t think I needed it before I went. I would recommend therapy too!
I LOVED the doctors, nursing and office staff. I have recommend them to everyone I know. No one who had bunion surgery that I know can believe how fast the recovery was. They all wished they had gone to Foot First.
— April 5, 2016
I have had two surgeries now with him and have been extremely satisfied. Staff is friendly and helpful.
— March 18, 2016
I would recommend Dr. Keith Sklar and his Foot First staff to anyone having any type of foot issues. At the initial consultation with Dr. Samantha Sklar and her staff at the Oakbrook office I knew after one visit that I wanted to have my bunion removed, scheduled the x-rays and surgery and am 9 weeks post surgery. My foot looks brand new and am very happy with the results. So happy I am scheduling surgery for right foot this Spring. Besides being an excellent Dr., the atmosphere and attention received each visit is welcoming, informative, and fun. You look forward to your appointments. Thank you Dr. Sklar and staff.
— February 23, 2016
I flew in from Florida to have a toe shortening surgery done. I have to say this was the best experience in a dr office I have ever had. From the receptionist to the Dr everyone was pleasant. They made me feel so comfortable. I was so embarrassed to show my feet. Dr. Sklar did a miracle on my feet. Staff continued to call and make sure I was ok after surgery. I would recommend Dr. Sklar 100000% to anyone.
— February 1, 2016
I had my first foot surgery done by other Dr. In 1993 it was very painful and unpleasant experience: bad side effect from anesthesia, crutches and out of work for two months.
I came to Dr. Keith Sklar in 2015 with hopes of fixing what I was not happy with after the first surgery and in continuous foot pain.

I was very skeptical when the doctor said that medicine has tremendously improved since then and that his patients literally walk out on both feet right after the surgery without crutches. That was exactly true. Dr. Sklar and his “partner in crime” own daughter, Samantha Sklar are fantastic team.

No side effects from anesthesia, I took pain meds for 2 days and noting after that. I was able to go to grocery store on my 4th day and returned to work on my third week where I am required to be on my feet all day.
I wonder what will new medicine bring 20 years from now, hopefully new feet with permanent pedicure 😀
Thank you Doctor Sklar
— January 25, 2016
Overall great experience s at Foot First Podiatry and with Dr. Keith Sklar. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Office is clean and organized. Dr. Sklar goes above and beyond to help you and always thoroughly answers your questions.
— January 11, 2016
I have been seeing Dr. Sklar for over 15 years. I have problematic flat feet and the custom orthotics he makes for me work wonders. Very knowledgeable and professional staff. Impressive modern and clean facility. Top notch care.
— December 12, 2015
I would love to rate Dr. Sklar and his staff higher than a 5 star rating but it’s not available. I had bunion surgery on 12/7, and here I am 4 days later healing beautifully and not requiring anything for pain. I have been extremely impressed with everyone from the person that answered the phone for my first appointment all the way through the ease of the surgery process. Couldn’t be more impressed. Surgery was quick. I was scheduled for 9:00, the surgery process started promptly at 9:00 and I was walking out after the surgery/recovery by 11:00! I will not hesitate to have surgery on my other foot when the time comes. Highly recommend Dr. Sklar. Definitely worth the hour drive for the surgery.
— December 11, 2015
Dr. Sklar is a rock star in foot surgery! I had a severely deformed foot that he has corrected with great care and no severe scaring. He has a great care for correcting ugly feet. Thank you for your foot passion, Dr. Sklar!
— Kim, December 11, 2015
Dr. Sklar operated on my bunion. The operation was painless; I didn’t even need the painkillers they gave me “just in case.” Dr. Sklar and his daughter (also a doctor) listened to and patiently answered all my questions. My foot looks and feels much better now. I visited the Chicago office and the Schaumburg office (farther but easier than taking the train and going up stairs when I was recovering). The staff in both offices were very pleasant, professional, and helpful. I always enjoyed talking with them. I couldn’t give these folks a better review.
— October 12, 2015
Dr. Sklar is the best! Sister used key-hole in South America and got poor results and continues to have issues including swelling and scar after 6 months. After 8 weeks, I have no scar and no never had much swelling. Going back for other foot.
— September 23, 2015
Had bunion surgery done in January. Very pleased with the result, minimal scarring. Dr. Sklar and his staff were great!
— August 18, 2015
I am 14 years old and Dr. Sklar did both of my bunions. Dr. Sklar was careful and took good care of my feet. His staff was amazing. They were so gentle and always had a smile on their face. I am now confident to wear sandals! Before I would always wear gym shoes or closed heels because I was so embarrassed of my feet, I felt like everyone would stare. Today I wear any sandal and I am proud. Dr. Sklar is an amazing doctor at Foot First Podiatry. He was so nice to my family and we’re going to miss him. In the end, I recommend that young girls or boys go to Foot First Podiatry if they don’t like their feet. He will make sure you love them after talking with him.
— August 12, 2015
I am 12 years old and I had Bunion surgery, the doctors here are really good on wrapping.
The Doctors are really helpful, and the surgeons were really careful. They were so good that my whole family are getting their feet done! Doctor Sklar’s office is really nice and taken care of. I am really happy about the people that work here, each and everyone of them! This place is so good and amazing that I’m going to try and work here when I’m 16 years old. I hope they will accept me!!
— July 29, 2015
Dr. Sklar by far is top choice for podiatrists. He stays on top of current procedures and techniques. Best of all, he totally enjoys his work and delivers high quality results. His staff are very helpful and super knowledgeable as well. I had my bunion surgery a few months ago and am more than pleased with the results!
— July 13, 2015
Dr. Sklar and his staff provide exceptional service! Two months ago I had a bunionectomy and the removal of a neuroma and my foot doesn’t only look better, but feels much better as well!! Since my initial visit, I felt very comfortable having Dr. Sklar and his staff take over the care of my foot. Surgery went very smoothly with the help of an excellent anesthesiologist and caring staff. Dr. Sklar has years of experience, which helped me feel very confident having him perform the procedure. I highly recommend Dr. Sklar!
— June 11, 2015
(Real Patient- Surgery Performed in May 2015) I had started to lose all hope...that was until the pain that I was experiencing, had started to become unbearable! It was at that point...that after searching endlessly, for a Cosmetic Podiatrist...that fate found me, Foot First Podiatry’s website!

On their website, I was able to easily locate, what was most important to me...that was, the gallery of “before & after” photos! And after seeing such great results...I was definitely anxious to get an appt. for my initial consultation!

So shortly thereafter, here I am! I am a very satisfied patient! So satisfied with my results...that I will be scheduling a surgery date for my other foot ASAP!

Dr. Sklar & Dr. Ruckman both did an amazing job on my foot! They were willing to do as much (as they possibly could) cosmetically, while of course fixing, the main cause of my foot pain. They were even able to rectify, some old scarring left behind from a previous Surgeon.

To sum it up for you-
You will not be disappointed at Foot First Podiatry! Not by the Doctor’s and nor by their wonderful support Staff!!! Everyone there made my treatment exceptional! So yes, I would definitely recommend Foot First Podiatry, to anyone that is in need of a Podiatrist!

(FYI: I “HAD” (past tense!) two big toe bunions, a pinky toe corn/bump, a shortened toe, a big ole ugly scar (both from a previous surgery), and some tendon issues!)
— May 15, 2015
I am absolutely thrilled with the care and attention I received by Dr. Sklar and his entire staff in Schaumburg. I walked out of his office after my procedure—actually three procedures on one foot—with only a surgical shoe. Now, two weeks later, the stitches are out and I am walking with gym shoes. The experience and outcome was more than I could have hoped for and certainly better than what I would have been subjected to had I not been referred to Dr. Sklar and his wonderful staff. I was first introduced to Dr. Sklar when he assisted one of his colleagues on my first foot surgery. At that time, he spent well more than an hour talking with me, getting to know me, asking about my family and interests and sharing the same with me. I was so impressed by the amount of time he took to get to know me as a person and then to continue the conversation on my subsequent appointments. His office staff is fantastic—so caring and considerate. I feel more like a friend or family member than a patient. I have already passed his card to numerous friends, co-workers, family members and even strangers in the grocery store. I cannot recommend Dr. Sklar highly enough.
— April 20, 2015
Phenomenal care from highly compassionate podiatrists and staff who not only have great medical training, state of the art meticulously clean facilities, but who have also a bed side manner that is filled with humor and personable care! Dress and staff remember and recall details about you that make you feel valued as a person and patient.
— January 10, 2015

Yelp Reviews

I’ve wanted to have surgery on my painful (and terrible looking) bunion for years. After seeing a few different podiatrists and weighing my options, I settled on doing it with Foot First in March. I felt comfortable with them because they are true bunion experts, having done (literally) thousands of procedures like mine.

I’m about three months out from my surgery now, and I’m happy with the results. From a cosmetic standpoint, the results are impressive. From a pain standpoint, it’s steadily improving. I’ve been out jogging some and walking lots; and I can already wear heels without much discomfort.  

The office is nice, and the staff and docs are sweet. Their estimate of my out-of-pocket costs was spot on. Their billing policies are flexible and fair (i.e. they were fine with me paying it off over a few months rather than all at once).

If you’re in the market to get a bunion fixed, you’re in good hands with Foot First. Recommended.
— 6/15/2016 – Adele N.
Dr. Sklar performed a bilateral bunionectomy (both feet) on me in December and I could not be happier with the results. His method is so much further advanced than many other podiatrists or orthos. I walked out of surgery both times (two weeks apart), I barely had to take pain meds, and I was working out on the recumbent bike three weeks after the last surgery. I went to three podiatrists before settling on Dr. Sklar and I feel very confident I made the right decision.

Many other doctors can show you one or two before and after pictures; Dr. Sklar has hundreds. His incisions are done on the side of the foot, and people cannot believe how great my feet look. I was in a Facebook group for people dealing with this surgery, as it is intense, and I can say my healing progress in terms of scarring and how quickly I was able to be back to an active city dweller was by far in the top 5% of all of the people in the group. If you are thinking about doing this procedure, do your research and include Dr. Sklar in your opinions. I asked a lot of questions and he patiently explained the answers to each one. I felt listened to and never rushed, even when taking notes in my iPhone.

Also, I’m surprised at other reviews regarding insurance. After I received incorrect information from my insurance company, I asked at my pre-op visit. Dr. Sklar’s insurance coordinator specifically called and got comparisons for my out of pocket costs if I had the surgeries in that calendar year, or waiting until January as I had been advised. She saved me thousands of dollars, and they worked with me to reschedule two surgeries before year end to make sure that I didn’t have to pay more. That’s a level of service I’m not used to in healthcare anymore.

I am happy to refer friends and family to their offices downtown or in the suburbs.
— 3/4/2016 – Cheryl W.
My story sounds similar to most but I couldn’t be happier with my results! Dr. Sklar team performed a bilateral bunionectomy and toe shortening on my feet and toes two weeks apart. After both procedures I walked out without any pain, crutches or issues. Everyone I met (from the receptionist, nurses, doctors, etc.) were all very professional and friendly, although Samantha Sklar was my favorite! I had no insurance issues as I was told up front what my insurance covered and what portion I would have to pay depending on my deductible. I would highly recommend Foot First to anyone needing a bunionectomy or any type of toe shortening surgery.
— 3/5/2016 – Patrice D.
Surgery 10-23-2015. Expert Podiatrists!!!!  I went to several consultations and did not feel confident about any of them until Dr. Sklar and his team of experts. I’ve never meet doctors that you could actually feel and see that they’re passionate about their work and care about the patient’s needs.  This team was very knowledgeable, caring, and extremely thorough.  I went to Foot First Podiatry because I suffered from painful bunions that were interfering with my normal daily activities.  The surgery went smoothly and I had hardly no pain.  Two weeks after surgery I’m in a gym shoe.  Unbelievable!!! I highly recommend!!!!
— 11/4/2015 – Tirzah C.
Where do I start??? I have suffered from gout for several years and this past summer the pain became unbearable. I saw a different podiatrist in the Schaumburg area who told me I also suffered from bunions. This was new news to me; I didn’t even know what a bunion really was. When I asked what could be done to resolve my problem, he told me that surgery was the only option. He stated that I would be in a cast and on crutches for 6 weeks!!! As a physical education teacher, this was not an option. I also consider myself very active and I did not want to be out of commission for so long.

I decided to go for a second opinion and after doing extensive research, I decided to visit Dr. Sklar at Foot First. The diagnosis was confirmed as a bunion but the recovery was very different. Dr. Sklar told me that I would walk out of surgery with a surgical shoe and that in two weeks, I would be back in a gym shoe! I also told Dr. Sklar that I wanted to be active and running as soon as possible. Well, after 8 weeks, I was back to running two miles continuously! At 12 weeks I went back to remove my screws. Today, I went to have my two stiches from the screw removal procedure taken out. I am officially good to go and have scheduled my other foot in December without any hesitation!

What I have enjoyed the most about working with Foot First is that everyone there is a real person. They are not pretentious and show a genuine concern for their patients. I have had the pleasure of working with all three doctors Dr. Keith Sklar, Dr. Samantha Sklar, and Dr. Nicholas Ruckman and all are fantastic. If you have pain from bunions and have contemplated surgery, do yourself a favor and visit Foot First; you will not be disappointed!
— 11/9/2015 – Bob W.
Dr. Sklar and his staff are top notch. Yelp lead me to this clinic for a recent foot problem that developed due to an accident. His staff was quick to get me in and they were able to take x-rays in the office. Everyone was super friendly from the receptionist to the MA to the nurse with Dr. Sklar. He was very friendly and did what was necessary to help with the problem. His office is efficient as well getting you in and out on time. Overall I would strongly recommend Dr. Sklar for your podiatry needs and that is coming from a health care provider.
— 8/15/2014 – Nelson M.
Went here two days after I had minimal success with the ER treating a very serious pain in my foot. Dr. Sklar was friendly and awesome and I was feeling immediate pain relief within 12 hours. Only wish I went here in the first place. Would highly recommend.
— 9/8/2015 - Mike A.
Dr. Sklar is great and so is his daughter Sam. I had a bunionectomy In Aug 2015. The staff is awesome! Everyone was friendly and personable. When I had the initial appointment to see if I was a candidate for the surgery he was very attentive and didn’t try to push for procedures I didn’t need. I’ve never had to wait over 5 minutes when I’ve come in for my appointments and I often call and move the appointment time up, and they are always accommodating. I am very pleased with my results.  I was back in a regular shoe in two weeks. I already booked an appointment to have another bunionectomy on my other foot. If you are contemplating getting a bunionectomy call Dr. Sklar, he has multiple office locations. You won’t regret it!
— 11/28/2015 – Shakita J.
Dr. Keith Sklar, podiatrist, is very personable and proactive. He carefully assessed my left foot bunion with bone-on-bone joint. It was very advanced, and barely met criteria for the alternative Swiss restorative procedure known for better outcomes and reduced recovery time. Took only 2 days off work for left foot and 8 weeks to full activity after PT and steady, exciting improvements in function and cosmetic appearance. My right foot was less malformed and required only 1 day off work post-op with speedy recovery. Dr. Samantha Sklar, podiatrist, joined the practice to add even more emotional support along with her new competencies to enhance the father-daughter team. Scheduling was prompt and organized.  When I forgot to pick up a written prescription for post-op pain meds following my pre-op office visit, the issue was quickly resolved with a phone call to Jordan who definitely went the extra mile for me more than once. Even then, I hardly needed any pain pills after the right foot procedure. I have full confidence in Dr. Sklar’s clinical abilities and appreciate the clean, professional, upbeat environment. If you or a family member suffer from bunions, why wait for an assessment!
— 12/12/2015 – Gary B.
I can’t say enough positive about my experience. I had both feet done at separate times for bunions. Dr. Sklar rocks! He REALLY has made it a passion to perfect his method for this operation and is fantastic at what he does. I would highly recommend him to anyone with any foot challenges. His support staff is great too. All very efficient and easy to communicate with.
Be prepared to get an earful on the footwear you wear. Dr. Sklar doesn’t want you to invest in his procedures and then not wear a shoe that will help in the future...
Note: One of my friends has already gone to him for help based on my recommendation!
— 8/26/2014 – Patty W.
I travelled 5 hours one way to consult with Dr. Sklar because of the wonderful things I had heard. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The surgery was fast and I had very minimal pain. My recovery time was 1/3 of what I had Ben told by other physicians. He has taken the time to follow-up with me and was available via his cell after hours when I ran into problems at the pharmacy. He is the absolute best Dr. I have ever worked with and definitely the post personable. He comes highly recommended and I have referred several friends to him already.
— 6/29/2016 – Mina S.
Dr. Sklar performed bilateral bunion surgery on me. I heard so many horror stories of pain and recovery so I had first surgery in February with great results that I had second done 6 weeks later.  The recovery post surgery was not what I had imagines and his technique allowed me walk out on my own.  Pain was soo manageable wish I would have done it sooner.
— 6/10/2016 – Mary Ann M.
I went to go see Dr. Samantha Sklar after listening to a radio commercial. I was very skeptical regarding the bunion surgery. I heard horror story and certainly did not want to be one of them. After speaking with Dr. Samantha Sklar, I felt very comfortable and at peace with my decision to continue with the procedures.

I had bunion surgery on my right foot the middle of April at the Oak Brook location. A month later, I had surgery at the Schaumburg location for my left foot. Having my surgery done at the Schaumburg location was much much MUCH easier. You get there, the nurses take you to the back part of the building, they sit you in a chair and start doing the work. You wake up, the nurses walk you to the lobby where you meet your ride and walk right to your car. You don’t need to change your clothing or any of those shenanigans. Simple, fast and easy. Oak Brook on the other hand, makes you come earlier, can’t have your nails painted, make you wear a hospital gown, shoes and hair net. The surgery is performed in a huge room that is cold as heck and supper scary. They keep you there for an hour after you wake up and send and outrageous bill to your insurance company.

My suggestion is to opt for the Schaumburg location, much much easier and all of the staff is super friendly.

My surgeries where no where near as painful as I expected. I walked to the car on both instances. For the next 3 days, after my surgery, I watched Netflix and stayed in bed, icing and elevating my foot. I returned to work on the 4th day both times. The healing process was much simpler than what I expected. I noticed my progression everyday. Now that my right foot is healed, my scar is not visible nor noticeable.  You don’t have to worry about having a huge ugly scar.

Both of my surgeries where performed by Dr. Keith Sklar and Dr. Samantha Sklar. They are both amazing at what they do. I do not regret at all getting my surgeries.

I would definitely recommend Foot First Podiatry to anyone looking for excellent results.
— 6/2/2016 – G.A.M.
So glad I tried Foot First Podiatry for removal of my bunion!! I was skeptical when I heard about the procedure on the radio but thought I would give them a try.  I could not be happier with the results.  I did not require pain meds, and was able to walk after surgery.  The service was very professional and the staff was courteous.  I would recommend Foot First Podiatry to all of my friends.
— 6/1/2016 – Kathleen B.
I have been in “bunion” pain and had hammer toes for as long as I can remember. Lets say at least the past 15 years.  I went to see Sam Sklar in the Oak Brook office on a Monday and the next Monday in Schaumburg I had surgery. I had bunion surgery and shortening of my hammertoes. Once I made the decision to see the doctor, saw what they could do I wanted it as soon as possible. At the first visit I gave them my insurance info and by the pre-op visit I was informed exactly what my insurance would cover, what they were going to do and how I would walk out on my own foot with no help.  

All went EXACTLY as expected.  I had pretty major surgery on my foot and I was in pain for the first 3-4 days, it was very bearable, I had pain in the toe area at one point and they adjusted the bandage and it was uphill from then on. I went in a few times a week as directed and each time I went it got remarkably better, so much so that three weeks later I opted to dive in to the other foot.  It all went exactly like the first one. No surprises. IF I only had my bunions done I would have been without any discomfort at all in about three weeks. I was back to work 4 days after surgery.  Because of the toes, it was a little longer discomfort only in toe area - not really pain.  I also had therapy for a couple weeks. It definitely helped even though I didn’t think I needed it before I went.  I would recommend therapy too!

I LOVED the doctors, nursing and office staff.  I have recommend them to everyone I know.
— 4/5/2016 – Maureen K.
I can’t say enough positive things about my experience here.  I have 4 kids (the youngest just turned 1) and have been putting off surgery on my bunions for years since there is NO Way for mama to be off her feet.  My dad saw a commercial for Dr. Sklar and told me about it.  I was so excited that I made my initial appointment and before I know it, I was scheduled for my surgery!  Everyone I have met with in the office has been patient with me, caring, and super nice!!  They have been upfront with me about what charges I would have and also very understanding when I was late for my follow up appointment.  Dr. Sklar has been nothing short of awesome!  He told me that I would be on my feet carrying my son around the same night as my surgery.  I was very skeptical but went ahead with it anyway since my husband was able to take a week off of work.  Sure enough, here I am, a week after surgery.  I have been walking on my foot, and even drove after the third day!  There was one very painful day, which dr. Sklar warned me about, when the nerve block wears off, but that literally lasted one night.  Exactly one week after surgery I am back to driving my car, chasing my kids, and living my normal and crazy life.  I actually have surgery scheduled for my left foot in 2 weeks!  Please, if you are like me and have been dealing with bunion pain, go see Dr. Sklar!!
— 3/28/2016 – Amy L.
I didn’t know what a bunion was until I saw an ad from Foot First showing what looked like my foot!  Went for a consultation at the Schaumburg office and was delighted with the super-friendly staff and the expertise of Dr. Keith Sklar.  After providing all the information I needed and the step-by-step process of surgery and after-care, I had bunion surgery on January 7 and walked out of the office in a surgical shoe.  Amazing!  Dr. Samantha Sklar examined my foot on my first two visits after surgery and I spoke on the phone with Dr. Nicholas Ruckman, who was on call at the time - all are very caring professionals.  I have had such a positive experience throughout and my foot is healing perfectly.  I’ve scheduled my other foot at the end of the year and highly recommend Foot First, especially if you have doubts.  Their website footfirst.com is very informative and you can learn more about the procedure Dr. Sklar has perfected for bunions.
— 2/23/2016 – Gail M.
I had my doubts about doing a bunion surgery even after my first visit with Dr. Sklar.  He assured me that I would be wearing gym shoes after 2 weeks of my surgery.  I was a skeptic on what he was telling me.  I had heard horror stories about these types of surgery.  I had the surgery Nov. 10, 2015 and I have no regrets at all.  Dr. Sklar and his team did an amazing job!  I was in gym shoes 2 weeks after surgery and the pain was bearable just like he told me.  My friends were astonished at how fast I healed, the minimal pain I endured and the ability to move around so quickly (I was too!).  I can’t thank him enough for making this a great experience.  I will be doing my other foot next and I know things will be the same.  I highly recommend anyone needing surgery to go to Foot First Podiatry.  The staff is very friendly & helpful too which only makes things that much better.
— 12/2/2015 – Myrna G.
Dr. Sklar performed his swiss bunion technique and I was up and walking the same day.  I had bunion surgery on my other foot 2 years prior and that procedure was so invasive it required me to be non -weight bearing for 9 weeks (crutches!).  I wish I would have known about Dr. Sklar and this technique before having endured the initial surgery.
— 11/30/2015 – Michelle H.
Dr.Sklar is the best Dr. on the block!

I am 26 and had bunions of a 75 year old and just recently got them done and they look amazing. I couldn’t be anymore happier with how my feet look!

All the staff are amazing especially Jordan and Sam :)

If you’re not getting treated by Dr. Sklar you’re doing it wrong!!
— 7/7/2015 – Christine F.
What’s so great about Dr. Sklar?  First and foremost, he really does love his practice.  He gets excited about new challenges.  Dr. Sklar continues to learn and improve his techniques.  He uses the Swiss Compression Technique to fix bunions, leaving you walking in a GYM SHOE in 10 -14 days!  While waiting for a surgical post-op appt I met a woman who traveled from Indianapolis just to have Dr. Sklar fix her feet.  Dr. Sklar has been improving feet for years, but when I went in for my appointments he didn’t make me feel like I was “just another bunion case”.  He does have a lot of patients and this makes him and his staff so knowledgeable, experienced, and skilled at what they all do.

I am more than pleased with the results of my bunion surgery (March 2015) by Dr. Sklar: walking (flat foot) in a surgical shoe immediately post op, wearing a gym shoe 10 days post op, in a flat shoe in 7 weeks, and by 8 weeks I had started small heels.  Pain post surgery?  Not until 2 days later - even then it only lasted a day or so and managed by pain meds.  

Dr. Sklar is the best around and I continue to recommend him to those seeking attention to their feet.
— 6/24/2015 – Alissa F.
Dr. Sklar was my third opinion for my surgery and after the consultation I knew I was where I belonged! Dr. Sklar explained every detail of what was wrong with my toe and exactly how he would fix it. Finally, someone that made sense!! I had a fractured bone spur on top of my toe with the piece of bone stopping me from bending my toe, arthritis at the joint, a bunion, and a cyst on another toe from a bone spur. Other places wanted to put an implant in at the joint or fuse the bones together so I would never be able to stand on my tip toes or wear heels again. That was not acceptable to me! So Dr. Sklar at Foot First fixed everything and SAVED THE JOINT! He shortened the bone south of the joint to allow more room for cartilage and movement. I was in his office (yes, his office...so no waiting for hospital openings or their cost) at 10am and out by 11:30am on the day of surgery.... and I walked out on my own without crutches or a cane! Four days later he was able to bend my toe without any pain! I am recovering very nicely and will have the other bunion removed in a few weeks!

So thankful that I found Foot First and their extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff!!

I highly recommend them...if you haven’t figured that out!! :-D
— 1/10/2015 – Alyssa M.

Google Reviews

I had a bunion removed six weeks ago and I have not had any pain! Dr. Sklar and his staff, which also includes his daughter, we’re so efficient and accommodating. I love the way my foot looks now. I highly recommend Foot First if you have foot problems.
— August 23, 2016 – G. Starke
Wonderful. Walked out of surgery and foot looks great. Fabulous staff too.
— August 11, 2016 – L. Huber
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Samantha Sklar and the entire staff at Foot First. Dr. Sklar spent the first few minutes of my first visit, asking me how “I” was, getting to know me. I was shocked! Then x-rays, unexpected ingrown toenail procedure, shot for bunion pain and made plans to have surgery and happy to discover that when I have the surgery, I will be able to go back to work within a week due to most updated surgical procedures used at Foot First. All this in my first visit which by the way, only took 40 minutes! So professional and personable. Only problem, I wish I would have gone to Dr. Sklar sooner! I am happy and so are my feet! Thank you so much Dr. Sklar and team.
— October 1, 2015 – M. Morris

facebook Reviews

Let’s see, where do I start? How about the beginning...about 4 years ago I began my search for a podiatry office that I felt comfortable enough to have my painful bunions removed. Each year when the weather turned cold, wet and bad my bunions would remind me that it was time to do something about getting them fixed, after 4 different doctors offices and 4 different sets of x-rays and multiple explanations regarding the procedures and not finding any one or office that I felt comfortable, I happened upon a newspaper ad for Foot First Podiatry. I did some research on their website and liked what I saw, so I set up an appointment and met with Dr. Nick Ruckman for a consultation...He made me feel so comfortable the first meeting that I knew I had finally found an office that I felt comfortable enough to trust the doctors to fix my aching feet. I had my second appointment with Dr. Keith Sklar. He also made me feel comfortable and all the concerns and fear that had built up in my head had just disappeared, I knew then that this was the office that I wanted to have my bunions removed. I scheduled my left foot that day which was the worst and had the surgery in February, I am so happy with the results. Dr. Keith Sklar, Dr. Samantha Sklar and Dr. Nick Ruckman are the best!!!! I now have scheduled the surgery for the right foot, want to have that poor foot look the same amazing way my left foot now looks! And there is no more pain in my left foot, I just can’t say that yet for the right foot.... soon. Can’t wait to go do it again and have normal looking and feeling feet after years of pain. Don’t put off your pain it only gets worse, Foot First Podiatry is the place to go for all your foot care, they make painful feet into happy feet!
— July 18 – V. Broaddus
I’ve had bunions for as long as I can remember. I wasn’t sure if I would consider surgery, but read about the “Sklar Bunionectomy” and was quite impressed with the recovery time and the positive reviews. I was still nervous, as I have never had surgery but decided to schedule a consultation this past March to consider surgery for later in the year. I thought I would need the time to mentally prepare if I decided to go this route. Any reluctance I had immediately diminished after meeting with Dr. Sklar. Not only is he very personable (puts people at ease) but the confidence, pride and passion for what he does really came through. I realized I didn’t have to worry about a thing other than to follow doctor’s orders after the surgery. I booked my surgery that day for the end of April. The doctors, nurses & staff really cover off on what to expect (anesthesia, surgery, recovery, insurance, etc.). My surgery went even better than I expected and I was in a gym shoe less than 2 weeks later. I was so happy with my results to that point that I scheduled my right foot to be done a few weeks later. All follow up appointments have been great...met with Dr. Ruckman and Dr. Sam Sklar as well. Dr. Sam went through this surgery herself, so it was really great to talk with her about what to expect long term. At this point, I am about 10 and 5 weeks out on my left and right and they both look amazing! Can’t wait to go shoe shopping!! My only regret is not doing this sooner. If you are considering, schedule your consultation with Dr. Sklar!!!
— July 6 – K. Lorenzo
Dr. Sklar and his daughter are amazing. I had a bunion removed and a toe shortened and hammer toes straightened out yes all on one foot! Also the staff is amazing friendly and kind. I look forward to having my other foot done thank you doctor so much.
— April 20 – S. Datro
Dr. Sklar had to fix the results from a previous surgery by another Doctor that had made it difficult to wear shoes and sandals! The results were fabulous and I can now where both shoes, sandals and boots without discomfort! The staff is great, the facility is clean and they are so very efficient! I was so thrilled with the results that I had Dr. Sklar correct my other foot! I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Sklar and his staff!
— January 14 – K. Fegan
Both Dr. Sklar’s are amazing and make you feel comfortable and confident about the procedure. Would and have recommended them to others dealing with feet problems.
— July 18 – D. Wadas
Due to arthritis, my foot had turned at least 30 degrees left and had slipped off the center axis of the ankle. I was told by another doctor that there was nothing that could be done. Dr. Keith Sklar said, “Yes, there is” and introduced me to Dr. Samantha Sklar. She explained to me what could be done to correct the problem, how much time it would take, and what the recovery would be like as well as how long recovery would be. Each detail was laid out for me in a positive manner. 
I had the surgery done in October of 2015. My first cast was wrapped for my grandchildren in purple with blue stripes. It was great. 
 Every time I went back to see “Dr. Sam”, I was greeted with a smile as well as questions with genuine concern about my healing progress. Each time she changed my cast, I saw how different my foot and ankle looked. 
For the first time in several years, my foot is straight and my ankle does not hurt all the time. I don’t have to use a cane all the time. I am not hooked to my mobility cart. 
There aren’t enough ways to say “Thank You” to Dr. Samantha Sklar, Dr. Keith Sklar, and the entire staff at Foot First but here goes.
THANK YOU! DR. SAM, YOU ARE AWESOME!
— February 9 – J. McLain
I have had two surgical procedures with Dr. Sklar excellent care, excellent results! Extremely happy with staff and anesthesia. Would highly recommend to all for any foot issue.
— March 17 – L. Williams
I started experiencing foot cramping / sharp pains during my volleyball season. I had bunion surgery just 4 weeks ago, and I am now in a gym shoe. I had very minimal pain even right after the procedure up until now. My mom has worked for Dr. Sklar for over twenty years so knew I was in good hands. Now I’m looking forward to the next volleyball season without the foot pain!
— January 19 – L. Martel
Awesome experience. No real pain and a great team of doctors. Thank you so much.
— August 11 – A. Bennett
So happy I found another way to treat a bunion that didn’t involve being in crutches for 9 weeks! I highly recommend Dry Sklar and this procedure to anyone who needs to have their bunions fixed! You won’t be disappointed!!
— November 23, 2015 – M. Hauser
Being a college soccer player used and abused feet are a part of the sport; twisted ankles, cracked nails, and itchy athlete’s foot were all negatively affecting my life. For as long as I can remember I have battled the embarrassment of toe nail fungus. I had tried multiple different treatments, nail polishes and home remedies with no luck. My first visit to foot first gave me hope that I wouldn’t have to live the rest of my life with embarrassing fungus toe nails and itchy cracked skin. Dr. Sklar was awesome! He explained the treatment steps and truly believed that my fungus could be eliminated at last. I must admit I was skeptical at first, but it is a year later and my nails are healthier than they have ever been! I no longer wear socks in the summer to hide my feet. 
. Dr. Sklar and his Foot First team has changed my life for the better! 
Thank you!
— July 25, 2014 – M. Huber
Growing up as a dancer I have been dealing with the consequences with foot pain for years. Every time I see a podiatrist besides Dr. Sklar I always go back to him to pick up the pieces. He is such a breathe of fresh air and always gives me hope that I do not need to live in pain. Now I travel from Michigan to Lake Zurich JUST to see Dr. Sklar and it is sooo worth it! I will never see anyone else and neither should you! In the future when I need to get surgery on my bunions, I know he will make my feet look and feel better than they ever have before! 10 stars! Thank you Foot First!!
— September 17, 2014 – N. Rae
Dr. Sklar and his team are excellent. I had bunion surgery. The surgery and recovery have been great. I will most definitely be getting my other foot fixed. The office staff is very professional and welcoming. Everything was explained to me in great detail and the nurses took great care of me. I’m very happy with the results. Cannot wait to be back in heels!
— February 4, 2015 – S. Christoff
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Samantha Sklar and the entire staff at Foot First. Dr. Sklar spent the first few minutes of my first visit, asking me how “I” was, getting to know me. I was shocked and moved! Then x-rays, unexpected ingrown toenail procedure, shot for bunion pain and made plans to have surgery and happy to discover that when I have the surgery, I will be able to go back to work within a week due to most updated surgical procedures used at Foot First. All this in my first visit which by the way, only took 40 minutes! So professional and personable. Only problem, I wish I would have gone to Dr. Sklar sooner! I am happy and so are my feet! Thank you so much Dr. Sklar and entire Foot First team.
— October 1, 2015 – R. Morris
I had bunion surgery 5 days ago, it was very large and have suffered with it for many years, I never really was quite sure which Dr. to go to. I had three friends who all went to Dr. Sklar, and had successful surgeries. I was very impressed with him and he explained everything he would do, he and his staff really made this a great experience. I went back today first check up after surgery and I can’t believe how great my foot looks, it looks normal after so many years. I can’t wait until it is all healed and I can get back out to exercise. I would highly recommend Dr. Sklar for any foot issues!
— April 7, 2014 – S. Hitzel